“Free” Baked Oatmeal w/Cranberry Adulterations

Gluten-free, dairy-free, gloriously adulterated oatmeal. I revel gratefully in these kinds of breakfasts. Thanks to my friend Brenda Zook Friesen for resending me her baked oatmeal recipe after I lost the precious milk-spattered handwritten recipe card. (I’m still looking for the card; but I couldn’t wait for the oatmeal.) I knew I’d be the only one in the house eating it, but I also knew I’d want something wonderful for breakfast every day of our holiday. And then, sometime Thursday afternoon, I remembered just how wonderful oatmeal is with cranberry relish mixed in. Joy … you will love this, and never miss the dairy or gluten.

Gluten-free, dairy-free baked oatmeal

Mix together thoroughly:
1 C brown sugar
2 t baking powder
1 t salt
2 eggs, beaten
1 C coconut milk
1/2 C vegetable oil (or applesauce)

I like to mix the dry ingredients and then mix in the “wets.” After combining all of above ingredients, stir in 3 cups gluten-free rolled oats (I’ve been using Bob’s Red Mill brand gluten-free oats, and So Delicious coconut milk).

Pour into greased 8×12 dish.  Bake @ 350 degrees for approx 40 minutes. (Brenda says 25 minutes, but perhaps because of the coconut milk, mine took longer to set up in the middle.)

Serve warm with milk.  Bren recommends mixing in pecans and blueberries. I like cranberries and almonds. Orrr … if it happens to be Thanksgiving, consider adding cranberry relish. You can use the recipe below, or your own favorite. I have made several varieties, and this is hands-down my new favorite: no cooking, just a whirl in the food processor.

Cranberry-orange relish
(Martha Rose Shulman, nytimes.com)

1 bag cranberries, rinsed and picked through to get rid of yucky ones
1 large orange, or 2-3 small ones*, peeled and cut into chunks
1/2 cup pecans
1/3 cup honey

Put all ingredients in food processor and pulse until an evenly coarse texture. Use or store as needed. Goes great with turkey, salad, on baked goods, soft cheeses, and of course, stirred into baked oatmeal!

Shulman calls for one navel orange; I like tangelos for their easiness to peel, and I happened to have a box of them around from a band fund-raiser, so that’s what I used.

This entry was posted in Food, Gluten-free, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Free” Baked Oatmeal w/Cranberry Adulterations

  1. Bren says:

    oooooh! So glad the coconut milk worked. We’ll have to try it … AND that relish. Sounds delicious.

  2. Rio says:

    YUM! That sounds so good! I love So Delicious coconut milk, and I can’t wait to try this. Thanks!

  3. revjohnny says:

    This looks really good!

Leave a Reply

